World Cup 2023: Take A Look At Past Winners Of The Marquee Event – News18

Share to Support us

A Look At Past Winners Of The Marquee Event

Before the showpiece event begins on October 5, let’s have a look at the winners of the 12 editions of the ODI World Cup.

India is decking up with the colours of the ODI World Cup, with the blockbuster event being hosted by the country solely for the very first time. Since the inception of the tournament, a total of six different teams have lifted the prized trophy, with Australia topping the chart. Among others, the West Indies and India have secured the crown twice. England, the hosts of the first three World Cups, tasted their maiden success in 2019. The reigning champions will begin their title defence against last edition’s runners-up New Zealand on October 5. The World Cup 2023 opener between Australia and New Zealand will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Before the showpiece event begins, let’s have a look at the winners of the 12 editions of the ODI World Cup:

1975 and 1979: West Indies

The West Indians clinched the first-ever World Cup trophy in 1975. The then West Indies skipper Clive Lloyd smashed a century in the final at the Lord’s where West Indies defeated Australia by 17 runs. The Caribbean unit replicated the feat after four years to lift the trophy for the second time. West Indies overcame England in the 1979 final.

1983: India

India were hardly in contention to become the champions when they entered the 1983 World Cup. The Kapil Dev-led side faced mighty West Indies in the 1983 World Cup final. Batting first, India posted 183 runs. West Indies were bundled out for 140 runs in reply, with India’s Madan Lal and Mohinder Amarnath claiming a three-wicket haul each.

1987: Australia

India and Pakistan were the joint hosts of the 1987 edition. The two neighbouring countries got past the group stage but could not reach the final. Australia and England showed their dominance throughout the campaign before going head-to-head in the final. The Aussies won the summit clash by 7 runs to claim their maiden World Cup title.

1992: Pakistan

Defending champions Australia hosted the 1992 World Cup. Pakistan, under the captaincy of legendary Imran Khan, clinched their maiden title after beating England by 22 runs in the final. Pakistan defeated New Zealand in the semi-final, registering a four-wicket victory.

1996: Sri Lanka

The ODI World Cup got a new champion in 1996, with Sri Lanka claiming the title. The tournament featured 12 teams for the first time. Sri Lanka got the better of India in the semi-final before facing Australia in the final. Aravinda de Silva’s unbeaten century helped Sri Lanka register a seven-wicket win over Australia.

1999, 2003 and 2007: Australia

Australia became a dominant force in world cricket at the beginning of the 2000s. What proves the statement was the country’s triumphant run in three consecutive editions of the ODI World Cup. In 1999, Steve Waugh led Australia to their second World Cup title, while Ricky Ponting replicated the feat in the following two editions.

2011: India

Team India, under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, ended the country’s 28-year-long wait to lift the second ODI World Cup in 2011. They endured just one loss to South Africa during the 2011 World Cup. Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir came up with sensational batting during the run chase against Sri Lanka in the final. Dhoni’s unbeaten knock of 91 helped India emerge victorious.

2015: Australia

Australia claimed their fifth World Cup title in 2015 after beating co-hosts New Zealand in the final. New Zealand could produce 183 runs and Australia comfortably chased down the target in 33.1 overs.

2019: England

England featured in all 11 editions of the World Cup before 2019 but could not win the title. The success finally came on home soil after the Eoin Morgan-led unit overcame New Zealand in a thrilling final at the Lord’s. Both teams scored 241 runs in 50 overs. The scenario was the same in the Super Over as well. However, England became the champions based on boundary countback.

Source link

Share to Support us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Download Our Android Application for More Updates